Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Latteralus

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 13, 2016
Hey all.

I'm new to MacRumours.

I recently brought a 17" PowerBook G4 1.5Ghz/2GB/100GB/128MB VRAM

Its running OSX 10.5.8 but when I installed something there was an issue and I had to force off holding the power button.

Now when I turn it on, it takes around 5 minutes from Logo to load but it will not start finder. No applications associated with finder work anymore either. Cant even use safari or itunes.

I have tried using task view and it looks like finder is constantly trying to load and crashing. It won't stay in the list long enough to even quit the program.

However the version of finder has changed to ???(??)

I managed to get terminal up and tried a couple of recommended commands (deleting finder plists and whatnot) but nothing has helped so far.

I cant open disk utility so I tried running repair permissions from terminal but it just go's from 0-100% in seconds and says failed.

It won't load my usb stick but tells me when it has been removed and alot of my preferences now say "error no preference panes available" when I click on them for instance "Accounts" won't load nor will much else in preferences.

I'm pretty sure I need to re-install OSX but I cant get a copy of tiger or leopard to use.

I cant make one either because the powerbook is my only Mac (brought it for nostalgia)

Is there anything anyone can think of that could help me out ?

Thank you for reading my long old post. I look forward to the reply's.

eyoungren

macrumors Penryn
Aug 31, 2011
A couple of things to try.

Download and install the 10.5.8 Combo updater. Now that's going to require another PowerPC Mac and target disk mode. But if you can't make that happen, another option to try is using a PC to view the update package and then extracting Finder and replacing it on the PB.