Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

abamct021

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 10, 2009
Is there a preferred manufacturer for Mac Computers when it comes to point and shoot cameras? I am new to Mac and on a steep learning curve.

I am looking to purchase a new point and shoot camera and am looking at the following manufacturers (no specific order): Canon, Nikon or Sony. I am looking at a budget of $200 - $300.

Can anyone recommend a camera or website to help me make this decision.

Thank you

(I LOVE MY :apple:)

macunwired

macrumors member
Aug 12, 2008
Los Angeles
www.dpreview.com

They have great reviews of all cameras... as far as compatibility with your Mac, you don't have to worry about that at all. Any of the cameras you are looking at will be fine. You will probably want to use iPhoto to manage your photo library. Here is a link to some great Apple tutorials:
http://www.apple.com/ilife/tutorials/#iphoto

At the high end of your budget are some fun underwater cameras... you don't get as much quality from them for the same price as non underwater cameras, but if you see yourself using the camera in wet situations, it might be worth looking at:
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/q209waterproofgroup/

My personal favorite pro camera manufacturer is Canon. For point and shoot it is usually a tie between Canon and Nikon.

Have fun!

MrMojoRising

macrumors newbie
Aug 4, 2008
I'm rather partial to the Canon point and shoots myself. I have had a G9 for about a year and just bought an SD880is.

The few Nikon point and shoots I've handled have all seemed to operate very slowly and have more complex menus and harder to operate controls, although that's just my subjective opinion.