Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wheelhot

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Nov 23, 2007
Hello everyone,
Well I am currently thinking of investing into a photo printer. Now first of all, I never properly print my own photo and I have very little knowledge about photo printing.

Currently I am thinking of the Epson R1900, its ink seem cheap (compared to Epson better professional inks which goes around $50 per color) and overall seem to be a good printer. Anyone got thought bout this printer and got other recommendations? I don't know bout Canon or HP printers but it seems many photographers I met swears by Epson prints. And if any of you all got any other printer suggestion, do tell.

Alright, as for what I am planning to do with the printer, is well for 2 things, personal and business. Personally, I would like to print some of my work and future work, I guess those who say your photo deserve to be brought to a hard media instead of only a digital copy is true and business wise, randomly I will be asked to take photo of events and my friend who's in charge of the event, told me that some of the visitors that day asked if they may look at the photos taken (by me) and they loved it and wished to own some. So I figure, I can sell them the photo prints instead and make a few extra bucks on the process rather then selling just JPEG which I feel wont value much.

Anyone know how prints are charged?

Artful Dodger

macrumors 68020
Hope this helps with regards to price of prints for the large size(s). My friend sells his 13x19 for $75 and that doesn't include framing because everyone has different tastes and it also adds to the cost. Other sizes, I'm not sure about the prices because he mainly sells the large prints.