Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Call Me Rocket

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 29, 2008
Seattle, WA
Hey there guys, I am an amateur photographer and I just happened to purchase a new macbook. Unfortunately, I have noticed that none of my photos look the same on the macbook as they did on the PC..

Is there a way to produce photos so they look the same on the mac and the PC?

I noticed that there is a color settings option in system preferences, but even when going through all 4 of the options none of them make the photos look same when placing my laptop side-by-side w/ the pc...

Also, is there some sort of a standard (if u want to call it that) for the way monitors colors are set for people using macs for photography work? As you know 90% or something of the computer market is dominated by PCs and I don't want it to look good on my mac but weird on a PC Heeeeeelp!

Thanks much :)

scotty96LSC

macrumors 65816
Oct 24, 2007
Charlotte, NC
I run both PC and MAC at work with a lot of photoshop running on both. I can't get the colors to look the same. I can get the colors close but that is it. I run the the color options on both computers and really can't get it right.
But, for me, it's not as big a deal since we print cmyk and we are more concerned with the output to paper than to the web which is what you are referring to I think. Good luck.

w_parietti22

macrumors 68020
Apr 16, 2005
Seattle, WA
It might be because the MacBook has a glossy display and your PC didn't. (Do the pictures look more "contrasty" with stronger blacks?) As far as I know there's not really anything that you can do about that... :(

MacDawg

Moderator emeritus
Mar 20, 2004
"Between the Hedges"
It has to do with the difference in the gamma settings on the PC and Mac
It is a common issue... dark on the PC and lighter on the Mac

Check out this article or Google "gamma mac pc" and get more responses