Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tombudau

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 16, 2016
Germany, Hesse
Hello!

That’s my first post at forums.macrumors.com. I’ve been using Macs since more than twenty years and mostly I didn’t got any trouble using Macs, but now I’ve got weird problems with Mac OS Sierra menu bar and autostart of some apps that offer menu bar icons.

First of all it’s impossible to arrange menu bar items/icons permanently. Pressing “command” key, then click and drag the icons in a new order works fine, but after rebooting, the menu bar items are arranged in the old way. Sierra doesn’t remember rearranging of the menu bar items.
The second problem is, that some menu bar apps don’t start automatically at login. All the preferences of these apps are cleared after rebooting also the autostart option.

In older versions of Mac OS I was able to verify and repair permissions, but this option is not given in Mac OS Sierra. So I reset NVRAM, PRAM and SMC without any success. The problems where also not solved after an clean install of Mac OS Sierra.

These problems occur just on my MacBook Pro (2015). Sierra works really fine with my Mac mini (2014) and my MacBook Pro (2011). Sierra also works very fine with my wife’s MacBook Air (2015).

Maybe someone has a solution for that problem.

Please excuse my bad English!

Kind regards
tombudau

Gregg2

macrumors 604
May 22, 2008
Milwaukee, WI
Your English is great! I had no clue that English was not your primary language until reading the mea culpa at the end. (I only noticed one misspelled word and one comma that didn't belong - very minor, and by no means did I carefully check for any other similar "mistakes" or typos.)

I'd suggest trying a different User Account and see if the problem shows up there also.

tombudau

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 16, 2016
Germany, Hesse