Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

spitfirejd

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Apr 28, 2004
Magnolia, Delaware, USA
I'm going to be doing product photography for my business and need some help on choosing equipment. I have a lot of photography experience, but zero studio photo experience. I'll be using a Rebel XTi and a Canon 100mm 2.8 Macro.

1. I'm considering using a light tent and was looking at the Photoflex First Studio kit with a light tent, 2 ea 250w quartz lamps and stands. Anyone know if this is a good start or is there something better for a similar price (about US$265)? B&H also recommended a kit that includes Impact brand tungsten lights (2 ea 500w) and a light tent. Are Tungsten lights cooler than quartz?

2. Keep in mind it needs to be simple and I have very little experience with flash. I think lamps would be easier to use than flash heads. Thoughts?

3. I have a very sturdy, but old, Slik Universal tripod. I'm thinking a micro positioning plate would help getting the product in focus without constantly moving it (most products will be small and fairly fragile). Bogen has one but would it work on my Slik? Or would I be better off getting a tripod that has a lateral arm? Bogen has a pro tripod (http://www.adorama.com/BG3021BPK3.html) that can be converted from a center post to horizontal post. I'd also think the micro positioner could be used with it if necessary. Thoughts?

Thanks.

jlcharles

macrumors 6502
Mar 30, 2006
Wenonah, NJ
For lighting on the cheap, nothing can beat the advise of strobist.blogspot.com

I think the light tent would be a great idea, with two flash heads on either side. You can get the sb-24 flashes on ebay for around 50 a piece if you are patient. But I wouldn't suggest running pc cords straight to them since I think they use a different trigger voltage and you could fry something. Radio slaves come cheap on ebay. just search for "radio flash."