Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cloudsfromiowa

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 27, 2007
I can get a good price with my educator's discount. Both are the same price. I had been using CS for Windows (from my school) before I bought my Mac. So, here's the deal...I am "OK" on it...I love finding and using Actions, mess with curves, create blog banners, etc. I am by no means a PRO but I like to play around and make my family's photos great.

So, I can't figure out the major difference? If I order CS2, I'll get it soon (and I've been without for over a month since I bought my Mac). If I get the PSCS3, I'll have to wait (not that long, I understand, but I'm tired of waiting, and if there is no reason...)

Thanks!

apfhex

macrumors 68030
Aug 8, 2006
Northern California
If I order CS2, I'll get it soon (and I've been without for over a month since I bought my Mac). If I get the PSCS3, I'll have to wait
Have a look at CS3's new features. There isn't a "lot" but you might find some of them useful. As faustfire said if you have an Intel Mac get CS3 no question.

Since you've been able to wait this long then I don't see why you can't wait a few more weeks for CS3 (if it ships on time).

Coheebuzz

macrumors 6502a
Oct 10, 2005
Nicosia, Cyprus
Well Adobe isn't known for adding tons of new features in each PS release. But the few new ones they did add are really worth the upgrade. In fact it's the only time after the addition of layers in v3 that i will upgrade without feeling ripped off! :)

To name a few, the new Camera Raw is excellent, non-destructive filters are a must and the fact that it simply flies on new Intel machines make CS3 a great release in my opinion.

jlcharles

macrumors 6502
Mar 30, 2006
Wenonah, NJ
Unless you need the added features of the extended version of CS3, there's no reason to spend the extra money on that over the regular version of CS3.

xfiftyfour