Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

slak

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 26, 2008
Hi MacRumors community. First I'd like to mention that I am completely new to DSLR, and this would be my first DSLR camera ever touched.

I am looking to purchase a used Nikon D70, with a Sigma 28-135mm D Aspherical lens. The price is $425, and the camera & lens are in mint condition. The seller is a coworker of mine, and she also has a side wedding photography business.

What do you guys this about this camera and lens for the money? 14669 shutter actuations on this camera.

Thanks!:eek:

yeroen

macrumors 6502a
Mar 8, 2007
Cambridge, MA
You can see how many times the shutter has fired. It's in the EXIF header. I don't remember if the shutter count is displayed in Aperture's, Adobe Bridge's, etc., EXIF viewer, but there is a handy command line utility called exiftool that does display the complete EXIF information. I used exiftool to determine that when my D70 died, it died at exactly 23000 actuations (I subsequently had it repaired for $237).

yeroen

macrumors 6502a
Mar 8, 2007
Cambridge, MA
It's a good price for the outfit. $400 is about market price for a LN-/EX+ condition D70 alone. The lens is pretty much a gimme. It's a slow plastic 3rd party zoom that doesn't have any resale value, but it's enough to get you started.

14669 is also a relatively low shutter count. Most D70 shutters die at ~30-50K shots.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Hi MacRumors community. First I'd like to mention that I am completely new to DSLR, and this would be my first DSLR camera ever touched.

I am looking to purchase a used Nikon D70, with a Sigma 28-135mm D Aspherical lens. The price is $425, and the camera & lens are in mint condition. The seller is a coworker of mine, and she also has a side wedding photography business.