Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Flatz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 22, 2010
I will be getting my first Mac soon.... 27" iMac.
I'm a professional artist (mostly painting), I also do some work in Photoshop, and edit lots of photos of my work.
I will also be experimenting with some video.

I have heard many talk about the large amount of reflection people get from iMacs.
Some have said that when working with an image with lots of dark or black areas it's like looking in a mirror.

Now, the monitor I'm using for my current PC is the SyncMaster T220.
It seems to be pretty good, only one dead pixel that I see, and I don't get reflections on it.

My plan already was to use the T220 as my secondary monitor on my iMac.
But I'm wondering, should I actually be using the T220 for editing my images?

I'm curious what the photo editing experience has been for you iMac users.

Any advice?

Kebabselector

macrumors 68030
May 25, 2007
Birmingham, UK
I'm curious what the photo editing experience has been for you iMac users.

I only had an iMac for a week, It had a few issues so it went back. The reason I didn't get an exchange was purely reflections. Some don't mind the reflection, but I hated it. As I had the 21.5" version I had no external monitor option, that said I wouldn't like one gloss and one matte screen either. So I went back to my old Samsung and MacMini.

Ruahrc

macrumors 65816
Jun 9, 2009
I only had an iMac for a week, It had a few issues so it went back. The reason I didn't get an exchange was purely reflections. Some don't mind the reflection, but I hated it. As I had the 21.5" version I had no external monitor option, that said I wouldn't like one gloss and one matte screen either. So I went back to my old Samsung and MacMini.

Unless I am mistaken the 21.5" iMac has the port for a 2nd monitor as well?