Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mdwsta4

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jul 23, 2007
how should photoshop CS3 look? i always thought it was an 'enclosed' app (sorry, don't know how to better explain that) that would look more like safari/iphoto/etc. i just purchased it and there are tool bars on the sides, but nothing in the middle.
i've always used Digital Photo Professional to edit my raw files/photos and Photostudio to do extra cloning and whatnot. i thought PS would look more like DPP, but instead it looks more like photostudio.
is this how it should be? is there a way to make it appear differently? how are you supposed to view/edit a whole memory card worth of photos?
and lastly, while i'm hardly new to photography, i'm brand new to PS. any websites or books on where to even start in this app would be greatly appreciated!!

for the question above, here is how PS looks on my MBP. tool bars on sides, but if i clicked in the middle off a picture, finder comes up. also no way to view a whole memory card worth of pictures.
Picture1-vi.png

by 'enclosed' i was kind of referring to everything in a main window like DPP and most other apps. you can click anywhere in the app. to view a memory card or folder worth of pictures, it has a list so you can view/select whichever ones you want to edit easily.
Picture2-vi.png

thinkband

macrumors regular
Dec 22, 2007
It is fine. That is how it looks on Macs at my school as well. The big difference between the PC version (I own it) and the Mac version (school has it) is that in the PC version, a whole new window covers the screen and you need to work inside that window whereas with the Mac version, photoshop is 'hidden' if you will so you can multitask better.

richard.mac

macrumors 603
Feb 2, 2007
51.50024, -0.12662
thats the way Photoshop looks. i like it this way and i presume so do all the professionals and designers who use Macs.