Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ghoztman

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 23, 2008
Switzerland
Hi all,

I am looking to buy a good instructional book or two on the fundamental principles of photography and composition.

I consider myself an enthusiastic beginner, although not a total newbie. I take a lot of pictures and video, but would like to learn more about the basic principles of composition so that I can take better shots and footage.

Are there any books or even online resources that you can recommend?

svndmvn

Nov 6, 2007
Italy
I understand this book isn't about composition but I believe it's as important as that, a forum member has been suggested to read it: Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson

ghoztman

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 23, 2008
Switzerland
I understand this book isn't about composition but I believe it's as important as that, a forum member has been suggested to read it: Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson

Thanks for that. I am also looking for good books on Photography, so feel free to make recommendations for that too.

svndmvn

Nov 6, 2007
Italy
I will quote a MR user
Get an off camera flash, get a tripod and remot cord and keep practicing.
Post pictures for critique.
THEN
when the critique comes back with things like "Wow, great shot perfect composition and sharp focus, but I would have liked better isolation and bokeh."
Understand exposure first. How does ISO, Shutter Speed, and Aperture relate, what is 'good light' versus flat light?
Then understand composition and framing
Then choose what types of photography you like
THEN choose the lens that suits the photography