Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

phillyphotos

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 19, 2010
Hi folks. New member here.

I'm a photographer using a MBP to run Lightroom 2. For the number of hours I spend on LR2, I need something faster.

I know very little about technical matters, but I have figured out that my MacBook Pro has:

-2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
-3 gigs RAM
-data on external SATA drives

I used Geekbench to test it, and it scored right around 3000.

I'm thinking about buying a Mac Pro and using it mostly for Lightroom 2, and I'm not sure where I can find information on LR2 performance on various machines.

Three questions:

1) Are GeekBench scores a good indication of how well LR2 would run on a machine?

2) Is there another benchmarking tool that will help me determine how well a machine will run Lightroom 2 compared to what I have now?

3) Are there any guidelines on when it is better to upgrade the processor instead of spending the money to stuff the computer with RAM (my regular approach to improving performance!)?

I'm basically trying to find out which machines offer what LR2 performance, so that I can figure out whether paying for a new Mac Pro means getting a 5% or a 50% performance boost.

Thanks for your help. I have tried searching around on this, but haven't found many answers. If there's an entire part of this website dedicated to this, please just point me there. I can do the homework - I just haven't found any good resources on this question yet!

Thanks again.

anubis

macrumors 6502a
Feb 7, 2003
Apple hasn't updated the Mac Pro in over 440 days. You'd be paying top dollar for nearly year-and-a-half old technology. It's very disappointing to me because Apple seems to have lost all interest in their desktop offerings. Don't be surprised when Steve calls the Mac Pro a "Hobby, Like the Apple TV" at the next WWDC : /

yaroldb

macrumors 6502
Feb 21, 2007