Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kenise

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 15, 2017
Hi,

My external hard drive has stopped working. I think it was because I didn't eject it properly.

I can't see it in Finder, but I can see it in Disk Utility. There's a lot of data I want to keep on it. Is there hope?

I tried to do First Aid, Verify and Repair in Disk Utility, but nothing worked.

Please help.

Thanks.

macmanmatty

macrumors regular
Jul 10, 2005
(x,y)
Hi,

My external hard drive has stopped working. I think it was because I didn't eject it properly.

I can't see it in Finder, but I can see it in Disk Utility. There's a lot of data I want to keep on it. Is there hope?

I tried to do First Aid, Verify and Repair in Disk Utility, but nothing worked.

Please help.

Thanks.

how was your drive formatted? mac os extended? Fat 32? HFS+?

kenise

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 15, 2017
I'm a novice at these things. Can I apply this solution to an external hard drive. I don't know how.

Open Casket

macrumors member
May 3, 2017
mine is Mac formatted and I never eject it properly. never had a problem.
how old is your ex hd?

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
There are data recovery apps for the Mac, but I'm not sure that they work with drives that aren't HFS+.

This is why I always ALWAYS ALWAYS recommend that Mac users use ONLY HFS+ drives for storing Mac stuff that is important to them.

OP:
I suggest you try the solution in reply 4 above.
If you don't know how, you're going to have to "get help".
Probably a level of "hands on help" that you can't get here.

A word of advice for the future:
Having stuff stored on a SINGLE DRIVE "is not enough".
If the stuff is important to you, it needs to be on at least TWO drives.
Otherwise, situations can arise such as the one you have right now.

kenise

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 15, 2017