Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

navjotcheema

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 20, 2023
M2 pro mac mini
10CPU/16GPU cores
retails at $1849
(after student discount)

and
M1 pro 8CPU/14GPU cores
14 inch macbook pro
retails at $2299 (refurbished; m2 pro retails $2950 after student discount)

(Australian prices)

I'm a software developer who already has a decent 4k monitor and some apple accessories lying around; making the above a tough choice. Any suggestions?

tstafford

macrumors 6502a
Sep 13, 2022
Both great machines but clearly so different. If the device is going to stay in one place all the time, I'd 100% buy the Mini. Save the money, get the better chips, take advantage of your existing accessories. But if you want a laptop, then the decision is fairly easy.

appled_out

macrumors newbie
Jan 20, 2023
M2 pro mac mini
10CPU/16GPU cores
retails at $1849
(after student discount)

and
M1 pro 8CPU/14GPU cores
14 inch macbook pro
retails at $2299 (refurbished; m2 pro retails $2950 after student discount)

(Australian prices)

I'm a software developer who already has a decent 4k monitor and some apple accessories lying around; making the above a tough choice. Any suggestions?
definitely the m2 pro mini. I have seen benchmark scores of the m2 pro mac mini to be better than m1 mac studio. also the advantages of the mini over the m1 pro laptop are advanced hdmi 2.1 and additional monitor display support. not to forget the wifi 6E and the bluetooth 5.3 as well. plus it's so much cheaper than the laptop, you might as well get another high quality display in that laptops budget. and well the only downside of m2 pro mini being that the front doesn't have the extra 2 thunderbolt ports as well as the sd card reader. i'm sure you can attach an external reader.

Last edited:
Reactions: navjotcheema

navjotcheema

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 20, 2023