Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Charingx

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 26, 2010
I'm in the market for a point-and-click digital camera with remote capture capability. (I'm a grad student. I've long used a digital camera and a tripod to take many photos of documents quickly. The ability to preview images on my Macbook and take pictures with a key stroke will, I'm sure, lead to fewer blurred/crooked images, less neck pain, and a faster rate of page turning.)

I've had trouble finding an up-to-date list of digital cameras with remote capture capability via USB, using either Snow Leopard Image Capture or free bundled software. I know that something from the EOS-series would do the job, but I just don't have the money. I've had a frustrating time sorting through manufacturers' websites. I'm not under a deadline, but would rather not go through the hassle of restocking to find a camera with the remote capture feature. Any recommendations?

Thanks!

emorydunn

macrumors 6502
Jun 5, 2006
Austin Texas
If you're just using it to capture documents then why not go and get a flatbed scanner? Because not only is it meant for scanning in documents but it will let you preview the image on your computer and then capture the final image with just a keystroke.

HBOC

macrumors 68020
Oct 14, 2008
SLC
I know that the rebel XSI does, as does the 40D (would imagine the 30D does as well). The G11 might, but you are in the price range of the Rebel line.

Remote capture is not feasible in the field. I mean i shoot landscapes, and i am not going to set up camp doing that. And with the advancements of PS, not perfectly straight photos is not that big of a deal. To remedy that, i even bought an EF-D focus screen for my 40D, works great!

Also, if you are worried about neck pains and such, Canon does sell an angle viewer. It is kind of spendy ($120-150 used), but worth it if you have bad knees/neck, etc.