Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LegendJxli

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 14, 2022
Hey as im new to the Apple Enviroment i would like to ask how much yall think i will be getting for a MacBook Pro 14“ M1 Pro (10Core CPU 16Core GPU) with 16GB RAM and 1TB SSD (would get it for 2.4k from amazon) if i will buy it now and sell it in about 1 year (so August-September 2023). I assume to not damage it or smth thats not normal after 1 year. So it will look like it normaly looks after 1 year of use.
Anyone can give me some numbers i can excpect? Need to know this for the decision which MacBook Pro ill get.
Thank yall in advance!

darngooddesign

macrumors P6
Jul 4, 2007
Atlanta, GA
If you plan for 80% of what any new computer costs from Apple, then getting more will be a nice surprise. Exactly how much depends on whether the M2 MBPs have been released. Buying a discounted computer lessens its depreciation.

Reactions: LegendJxli

LegendJxli

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 14, 2022
If you plan for 80% of what any new computer costs from Apple, then getting more will be a nice surprise. Exactly how much depends on whether the M2 MBPs have been released. Buying a discounted computer lessens its depreciation.
So about 1.5-1.8k should be real?

darngooddesign

macrumors P6
Jul 4, 2007
Atlanta, GA
So about 1.5-1.8k should be real?
Plan for around 80% of whatever the computer costs new from Apple.

There are other variables which could affect your resale value. For example, if Apple keeps the M1 14" but sells it for a bit less than now your resale would be worse, but if the Air is any indication, they will. keep sellignthe M1 14" for what it costs now and the M2 14" will be a couple hundred more. You have to decide what is more important, slight differences in resale or having a new computer to use.