Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Megaman

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 11, 2006
Hey everyone, Futureshop has a sale on memory and I need your advice as to which CompactFlash to buy?

"Sony 4GB 133X CompactFlash Card For Alpha Digital SLR Cameras" for $59.99
or
"SanDisk 8GB CompactFlash Ultra II Memory Card "for $79.99

I'm pretty new to dSLR cameras, I just bought a Canon 40D. Will I even notice the difference in speed?

Should I pay the $20 more for a bigger but slower card or just buy the 4GB.
Thanks in advance!

theBB

macrumors 68020
Jan 3, 2006
Will I even notice the difference in speed?
I very much doubt you'll notice it when taking pictures, but the faster card may download pictures in slightly less time. If they were the same price, I'd go with the bigger card.

nburwell

macrumors 603
May 6, 2008
DE
If you are shooting sports or high action shots, then you will probably notice the difference. In that regard, the Sony would win. However, I'm a big fan of SanDisk (they're the only CF cards I own). So you can't go wrong with going with them. If you shoot a lot of static subjects, then it's really up to your own preference.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Thanks in advance!

If you like to shoot at a high frame rate then using a faster card wil alow you to take a longer sequence of frames . The exact details depend on if you shoot raw or jpg

Look at the speed of your current card. If you are happy with the number of frames you can shoot at high frame rate before you are forced to slow down then you do not need a faster card.

jbernie

macrumors 6502a
Nov 25, 2005
Denver, CO
Given a 4GB card in a 40D set to the highest resolution jpg can hold in the order of 800+ photos....

Do you really need 8GB (ie 1600 photos)?