Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jamesconnery

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 20, 2016
USA
Let me start out by saying I am no expert when it comes to flashing video card so I am reaching out in seek of wiser council. I have recently come about acquiring a Sapphire 6870 video card and which I am currently running of a mac pro 5.1 the card does not boot with the typical Apple logo boot screen nor can one choose a boot drive while holding down the option key. I have read through scores of postings across the internet suggesting there is a way of flashing this card to enable the boot screen option etc while using the newer Mac operating systems eg Yosemite etc. Here is the particular Sapphire model I have http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102948. Any helpful advice will be greatly appreciated.

Jamesconnery

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 20, 2016
USA
Thank you for the suggested thread. I have read through all thirty pages of this thread and flashed my card using the method described by Netkas. On my Mac Pro 3.1 I only have video output on one DVI port (lower) and no video feed through the HDMI port. Siphoning through Netkas Forum there does not seem to be a viable solution. Needless to say if anyone has any insights I am all ears.

MacVidCards

Suspended
Nov 17, 2008
Hollywood, CA
Netkas created the rom. Odds of someone here rewriting it are zippo. The only AMD folks here are from the PR department, they don't know about roms.

Fl0r!an

macrumors 6502a
Aug 14, 2007
There might be an improved version of that ROM somewhere deep inside that thread: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,10827.0.html

OS X can be enabled on all ports by disabling IOReg injection. This will make the card work like a unflashed PC card in OS X, which is the best alternative, since Apple didn't provide a perfectly matching framebuffer personality.