Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Viserion

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 25, 2015
A while ago I got a Powermac G5 as a replacment for the previous G5 that would not turn on, not even so much as a light or fan spinning except for the very rare occation it would boot fine.

Back to the current G5, I think it is also broken, and I'm the one who did so by mistake.

I'm not very experienced with Macs, and these two are the only ones I have ever owned.

It started with me wanting OSX, MorphOS and PPC version of Ubuntu on it, and I managed to set it up correct somehow.

I was not happy with Gnome, as I also run Opensuse with KDE on an Intel machine, so I tried updating to KDE trough apt-get, but that didn't work as I got numerous errors and instabillity.

I then found an old OCZ Vertex 2 SSD and decided to do a compplete reinstall.

OSX and MorphOS worked well, but Opensuse PPC/Kubuntu didn't.

On Kubuntu the installer would always crash when finishing the last settings window no matter if I hit next at once, or waited for it to install completely.

On Opensuse I only got to Grub, and only later learned you had to find the core and load it.

So I made an memory stick and tried via Openfirmware.

Big mistake.

I entered something like "boot ????\boot\ppc64le\grub2-ieee1275\core.elf"(I don't remember what ???? was) with the result that nothing happed, and after nearly an hour I turned it off.

So when I try to start it now it chimes, but no picture on the screen at all, and fans will be very loud after a while.

So tried reseting it by pushing the button on the motherboard. Made no difference , and the CMD - OPT-P-R command numerous times.
After a while I noticed that the light under the mouse isn't on, so it may be that keyboard/mouse isn't working.

Tried all the USB port. Same thing.