Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sahnert

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 20, 2003
Seattle
I am a beginner and taking a photography class. I'm wanting to make decent scans of 8x10 prints using my hp all-in-one (psc1210). You can see my results so far here.

I would like some pointers for improving my scans (and improving my photos if you like).

For some reason the blacks are coming through with a gray grid-like pattern that I would like to get rid of. Also the scans seem to pick up a lot of dust spots that I can't see on the print itself. Could these be from the scanner? I've applied minimal photoshopping to get rid of some of the dust specks, but is there something else I can do?

Here are the settings I'm using in the TWAIN utility:
Output: Grayscale (8bit)
Resoultion: 600
Sharpen: None
Dust and Scratch removal: None

Any help would be great!

Thanks

devilot

Moderator emeritus
May 1, 2005
I keep checking this thread and hoping for a response... I don't really have any prints that I'd bother scanning, and I don't have any scanner, but suggestions would be nice for if I somehow found myself in such a situation I guess. :eek:

hvfsl

macrumors 68000
Jul 9, 2001
London, UK
You are probably better off asking the question at a place like this:
http://www.retouchpro.com/

You could always try scanning it using the colour photo settings (and then adjust the image in PS if need be) to see if it makes much of a difference.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
I am a beginner and taking a photography class. I'm wanting to make decent scans of 8x10 prints using my hp all-in-one (psc1210). You can see my results so far here.

I would like some pointers for improving my scans (and improving my photos if you like).