Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Chippel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 11, 2016
do you guys know how secure the non public disk encryption is Apple provides? I'm asking because I can read all over the net that you shouldn't use BitLocker on Windows because there is a "backdoor" in the encryption and if Microsoft is forced to, they give out the master key to decrypt.

Is Apple Disk encryption (FileVault2) more secure?

Rok73

macrumors 65816
Apr 21, 2015
Planet Earth
I'd say it's freaking secure. Filevault 2 uses XTS-AES 128 encryption. I am not an expert in encryption but from what I understand is that if you have a password with let's say 20 characters with letters from A-Z and numbers from 0-9 and your HDD/SSD is encrypted with AES 128 then it would take hundreds of thousands of years to crack that encryption.

You might google AES 128 encryption yourself, there are quite a lot of questions and answers related to this all over the web.

I don't know much about Bitlocker but I know that it uses the same encryption standard. If the so-called "backdoor" is that Microsoft would give out the "master key" to any authorities, well than that is clearly not a backdoor in the encryption standard itself.

While I researched any typed all of this I began to ask myself which content on your personal drives might be so critical.

Chippel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 11, 2016
I'd say it's freaking secure. Filevault 2 uses XTS-AES 128 encryption. I am not an expert in encryption but from what I understand is that if you have a password with let's say 20 characters with letters from A-Z and numbers from 0-9 and your HDD/SSD is encrypted with AES 128 then it would take hundreds of thousands of years to crack that encryption.

You might google AES 128 encryption yourself, there are quite a lot of questions and answers related to this all over the web.