Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Wjk

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 18, 2016
Good morning, first post here and new member, really looking for advice.

I am an architect and business owner looking for advice for a new MacBook Pro. I am torn between a
  • MacBook Pro 15, 2.9ghz AMD Radeon Pro 460 (on order from B&H for about 6 weeks now) and a
  • 2.7ghz AMD Radeon 455 version I could pick up today.
I don't want to make the wrong decision and get the machine available today, and regret it in a month.

I currently work on a combination of a MacBook 2015 13" and a Dell 2014 M3800. The first serves me at home and on the road, and the second when I have a graphics intensive task to take on. But at this point, both are stuttering to keep up with my workflow, and I hope a quad core MacBook with dedicated graphics is going to be a single machine that can get it done. I can also be on the road or on site for 8 hours, and while the MacBook 13" I have is slower than the Dell, I can count on the battery (the Dell only reaches about 2-1/2 hours, and I don't trust an XPS 15 to do any better).

Currently, every couple of days, I am working at 4AM for a 9AM presentation or pitch, and something freezes (it can happen in Illustrator, Autocad, PowerPoint, on either machine). I'm dead in the water, resetting and hoping work is saved, then racing to complete.

My typical day utilizes:
  • Autocad (A lot, and with numerous XREFs and arrayed complex blocks)
  • Excel (Large pricing leveling sheets)
  • Large PowerPoint files (200+ megabytes for presentations, even after compressing images)
  • Adobe Illustrator (files with many many vectors)
  • Adobe Photoshop
  • Adobe Acrobat (large drawing packages that can make Acrobat move very slowly)
  • Sketchup
  • Future: Revit, if and when I can find time to acclimate and push our firm in that direction.