Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Your CPU setup

• i7 2.2G

Votes: 6 50.0%
  • i7 2.6G

Votes: 5 41.7%
  • i9

Votes: 1 8.3%

• Total voters

zdproject

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 20, 2018
Hello, new comer here seeking advice buying new Macbook pro 2018. I'm a Computer Science undergrad and I've been using my first 13'' rMBP (First Gen, 2.5G i5, manually ungraded 512 SSD) since 2013. Only this year have I'm assigned the newer 15'' 2017 Macbook pro (2.8Ghz) during my internship program, but I do like it very much after using it and am not bothered by butterfly keyboard. I'm considering replace my 2012 MBP for next 5+ year.

I've been researching the MBP lineup for past few days but most of the review are from video producers demonstrating usage on Final Cut Pro and Adobe Premiere. Although I use Lightroom and Photoshop for occasional RAW image processing, more often my laptop is for working/studying, so I'd like to hear voices from developers as well. I'm trying to find a 15'' pro with 1) a CPU balanced between multi-core and single-core performance, 2) large enough memory for running at least one Linux VM instance, and/or at least two docker container instances while developing using IntelliJ family products or Visual studio code w/ 16+ chrome tabs, and 3) enough disk space (I have used about 315G in my old MBP after moving my Lightroom directory to external HDD, would be nice to move it back).

What I've experienced from 2017 MBP is that it's still lagged when processing large source code (4000+ line) in IntelliJ. I understand that it's unlikely to fix this issue given the file size but given the allegedly 8th Gen upgrade and also throttling issue I wonder if developers should experience speedup in coding. I'm also wondering if it's worth going to 32G (16G seems acceptable so far, 8G is probably not enough).

Last edited:
Reactions: RandomDSdevel

CodeJoy

macrumors 6502