Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iCris

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 18, 2008
hi guys,im new in the DSLR world and i dont clean my D80 sensor before,that they use to clean the sensor? friends tell me about eclipse and pecpads any know or use that?.
Thx in advance

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
hi guys,im new in the DSLR world and i dont clean my D80 sensor before,that they use to clean the sensor? friends tell me about eclipse and pecpads any know or use that?.
Thx in advance

If you need to actually clean it, that's the way. Most times a good blow out with a Rocket Blower works as a first step.

-hh

macrumors 68030
Jul 17, 2001
NJ Highlands, Earth
I've been evolving (and spending money) on cleaning stuff for awhile.

System 1:
I started out with Eclipse (chemically, it is methanol) and a Pecpad wrapped around a rubber 'tupperware' spoon. While this is the cheapest cleaning brush, it is a bit of work and can be a nuisance.

System 2:
Spent the money for the special prefabricated brushes; stuck with Eclipse. Less laborious, but these disposable brushes aren't cheap.

System 3:
Mucked around with various dry brushes. Went back to #2.

Intermission:
Found out that Eclipse solution can't be mail-ordered ... or technically taken on Commercial Airline flights ... because methanol is a "no-no" substance (carry-on or checked baggage). As such, started to look at what to do for wet cleaning when on the road...debated on if to simply ignore the travel ban and carry Eclipse in checked baggage.

System 4:
Bought the cheaper (single AAA) "Arctic Butterfly" electrostatic brush...found that it works very, very well.

System 5:
Also bought some of Arctic Butterfly's own mixes of small bottles of airline-friendly cleaning solution (and matching brushes), but haven't tried this yet. Apparently, these are ammonia-based instead of methanol.

Intermission #2: