Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mrgreen4242

macrumors 601
Original poster
Feb 10, 2004
Ok, by not-so-popular demand, here's a new monthly critique thread. Go ahead and tear into these. I'm very new at this and have very thick skin! Sort of a mishmash of photos from the last couple days with my new D40.

Attachments

• DSC_0005.jpg
    DSC_0005.jpg
    129.7 KB · Views: 95
  • DSC_0014.jpg
    DSC_0014.jpg
    200.4 KB · Views: 81
  • DSC_0020.jpg
    DSC_0020.jpg
    166.3 KB · Views: 75
  • DSC_0060.jpg
    DSC_0060.jpg
    141.4 KB · Views: 80
  • DSC_0156.jpg
    DSC_0156.jpg
    219.2 KB · Views: 92

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
OK, I'll bite. :)

The spider is probably the most successful. The composition is really good, and we get a sense of a subject in its environment.

The flower is too centered and too distant, I think.

The Chevy shot would be nice if the lighting on the tail fin were better and if the reflection weren't some distracting parking lot in the distance. Otherwise, I think the lines of the photo are good.

The baby should be looking at us, not at something that is out of focus. Because the in-focus baby is looking away from us and nothing else is in focus, there is nowhere for the eye to rest, so the photo seems unresolved.

I like the lighting in the last shot, but I feel as though it's a photo without a subject. Could you maybe crop it to give the empty bench more emphasis? (Maybe crop out the street and just give us the sidewalk?) Just a thought.

mrgreen4242

macrumors 601
Original poster
Feb 10, 2004
OK, I'll bite. :)

The spider is probably the most successful. The composition is really good, and we get a sense of a subject in its environment.

The flower is too centered and too distant, I think.