Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KUguardgrl13

macrumors 68020
Original poster
May 16, 2013
Kansas, USA
I just noticed today that my 2009 MBP has a Service Battery notification on the battery menu. Is this anything to be truly concerned about? I don't relish the idea of paying for a new battery install on a 4 year old machine. I'm a college student and need a reliable laptop that won't die on me.

Attachments

• Screen shot 2013-08-15 at 2.48.26 AM.png
    Screen shot 2013-08-15 at 2.48.26 AM.png
    36.5 KB · Views: 616
  • Screen shot 2013-08-15 at 2.49.00 AM.png
    Screen shot 2013-08-15 at 2.49.00 AM.png
    19.2 KB · Views: 1,559
Last edited:

Macman45

macrumors G5
Jul 29, 2011
Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Given it's age and the number of cycles, you only have one option. Change the battery. If it's not showing any adverse signs of swelling etc, then you can happily continue to use it on the power cord, but if you want portability, then anew battery is the way to go.

Don't be tempted to try and save money by using a non Apple replacement either, a search of these boards will reveal what happens if you do.

A replacement will cost you around $100, and will restore the Mac to full capacity.

nickandre21

macrumors 6502a
Jun 21, 2012
does the laptop work on battery backup? if it does you can use it but a service battery warning comes up if there is an issue with the battery. A replace battery warning comes if the battery is depleted or near depletion.

Ricanlegend

macrumors 6502a
Apr 21, 2009
Bronx,Ny
I just noticed today that my 2009 MBP has a Service Battery notification on the battery menu. Is this anything to be truly concerned about? I don't relish the idea of paying for a new battery install on a 4 year old machine. I'm a college student and need a reliable laptop that won't die on me.