Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

11201ny

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 28, 2014
Hello.
I am a photographer with about 9TB of photos, which i backup to Amazon Drive using Arq Backup software. It been great up until now, as Amazon has changed their pricing structure. Is there a way that a smart idiot like myself can create my own offsite backup server? Would i have to have a static ip / business internet account to do this? Is it worth it, to avoid paying Amazon $600/year?

Thanks!

BrianBaughn

macrumors G3
Feb 13, 2011
Baltimore, Maryland
For the average Joe...purchasing the gear, configuring something and maintaining it throughout OS upgrades is a bit daunting. Amazon is backing up their backup of your backups, so to speak, and you'll have a hard time matching the functionality and reliability.

Compare what Amazon or any other such cloud backup provider does to you yourself having a pair of backup NAS or similar devices, one at home and one in the office, that you swap out every week or so. I'm thinking you'd have to spend a minimum of $1000 for a pair of external devices big enough to handle 12TB each.

11201ny

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 28, 2014
For the average Joe...purchasing the gear, configuring something and maintaining it throughout OS upgrades is a bit daunting. Amazon is backing up their backup of your backups, so to speak, and you'll have a hard time matching the functionality and reliability.

Compare what Amazon or any other such cloud backup provider does to you yourself having a pair of backup NAS or similar devices, one at home and one in the office, that you swap out every week or so. I'm thinking you'd have to spend a minimum of $1000 for a pair of external devices big enough to handle 12TB each.

Thanks Brian. I already own all the stuff, i'm just not sure if i'm technically capable. I'm a savvy computer person, but no i.t. pro.

jasnw