Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tiki19

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 20, 2019
CH
Hi all

I'm a mac newbie and also not really experienced with using the terminal etc.
I'm using macOS Mojave version 10.14.5 and R 3.6.1

I'm trying to run a R script with the terminal. Unfortunately, the tutorial is only for Windows. In the beginning the tutorial says:
type the command SETX EWASTE_SCRIPT_PATH "[FOLDER SCRIPT PATH]" and enter the location of the folder with the scripts between the "". Right-click and choose paste, to paste this location that was copied to the clipboard before. The command would then look for instance like this: SETX EWASTE_SCRIPT_PATH "F:\Vincent\Documents\ewaste-master\scripts".

I tried to add the path in the .bash_profile by adding the following: export PATH=/path/to/location:$PATH, with /path/to/location referring to /ewaste-master/scripts

if I type in echo $PATH, i get:
/Users/estherthiebaud/Desktop/ewaste-master/scripts:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin

After that, I run the R script. It starts running but then i get the following error:
file.exists(Sys.getenv("EWASTE_SCRIPT_PATH")) is not TRUE
Ausführung angehalten
##execution stopped in German

Then I also tryied to add in the .bash_profile
EWASTE_SCRIPT_PATH=/path/to/location:$EWASTE_SCRIPT_PATH
but that didn't help.

Now my question is: is there a way to still use this script with Mac with this Sys.getenv() or do I have to run it on Windows?

I also tried to run everthing directly in R, then I get the same error message, but with this addition:
Fehler: file.exists(Sys.getenv("EWASTE_SCRIPT_PATH")) ist nicht TRUE