Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jwt

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 28, 2007
Hey all,

I was asked by a colleague to shoot his band. It would be some shots of the band playing and then some group shots at a location he has picked out. I'm a little scared since I'm a hobbyist whose interests are more toward nature and landscape photography. I'm inclined to accept his offer because it is a new experience and may open a door down the road, but I'm not sure what to expect. Can anyone offer any advice?

Piercey

macrumors newbie
Feb 1, 2008
Let's start with what kind of gear you have. That will depend on what you can do and the advise you'll get.

blairwillis

macrumors regular
Jul 24, 2005
I recommend a 9mm. Get as close to the stage as possible. If you need to be discrete, go for a classic sniper rifle, silencer, and scope, but who has that kind of time or patience, anyway?
;)

jwt

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 28, 2007
Ha Ha, everyone!

My gear consists of a Rebel XTi with the kit lens, a 17-85 USM IS, and a 70-200 f/4L IS.

termina3

macrumors 65816
Jul 16, 2007
TX
That's tough... no fast glass there.

I'd go with whatever gives you the lowest aperture, leave it at that, ratchet up the ISO quite a bit, enough to get 1/60 or 1/100. Try to get pictures of the band while they're relatively still (unless you want the motion blur).

Remember, a photo with some noise is still intelligible. Anything grossly underexposed or blurry won't work.

patrickq

macrumors member
Mar 23, 2005