Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

xkRoWx

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 15, 2007
Canada
I bought a Nikon D40 with a 18-70mm AF-S Nikkor lens earlier this year for $500 CAD off a friend. I have little knowledge in dSLR, I did a little bit of film SLR during high school and that was well over 4 years ago. I've never really got a chance to use the camera due to work and school, and I have been shooting in Auto mode ever since I got the camera. Now that Christmas break is coming up soon I have a lot of time to my disposal and I'd like to learn to use the camera to its potential.

I was told that the D40 is a great camera, and the 18-70mm lens is a "fast" lens. Of course, being the amateur that I am, I have no idea what they mean. Can anybody in this forum please tell me what my kit is capable of? The zoom length of the lens isn't as great as I thought it'd be, and I don't quite understand how to determine whether if a lens is "fast" or not.

I am planning to shoot a lot of photo during the day and it's pretty bright here with all the snow. I have no preference in the type of photography or technique, and I am willing to learn anything and everything to produce great photographs with my kit. Any tips/suggestions?

Thanks a lot in advance.

LittleCanonKid

macrumors 6502
Oct 22, 2008
"Fast" refers to its aperture, or basically the amount of light it can gather. The lower the number, the better.

According to Ken Rockwell, it's 3.5-4.5. Not particularly fast, really. It'll have an aperture of 3.5 on the wide end (18mm), and an aperture of 4.5 on the telephoto end (70mm).

If you're looking for zoom, I would recommend the Nikkor 55-200 for a decent amount of money. I'm a Canon guy by trade though so you may want to research some more.