Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

NeGRit0

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 19, 2008
Las Vegas, Nv
Hey all! I'm about to drive from Las Vegas to San Francisco, and the weather is going to be stormy. I am hoping to get some good shots, but other than sticking my head out the window, what kind of advice can you guys offer me to help? I have a Canon EOS XTi w/kit lens...

Basically i need some pointers on shooting through glass. Sometimes my pics come out, and sometimes they dont. I am very new to DSLR's and any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance! :)

r.j.s

Moderator emeritus
Mar 7, 2007
Texas
A circular polarizer will help you shoot through glass without reflections, but if it is raining, then you'll have the water to deal with.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Hey all! I'm about to drive from Las Vegas to San Francisco, and the weather is going to be stormy. I am hoping to get some good shots, but other than sticking my head out the window, what kind of advice can you guys offer me to help? I have a Canon EOS XTi w/kit lens...

Stop the car and get outside. Really. How long can that take.

Do NOT shootthrough glass at least roll the window down

OK if you must shoot through the glass get as close to the glass as you can almost to the point of touching it but don't do that as vibrations will trasnfer to the camera. Shade the glass so that no light gets between it and your camera.

A pol. filter was suggsteed above but those will cut the light by 1.5 stops. That is not good and you can avoid the need for a filter be shading the glass with hands, lens hood or whatever.

Just don't expect any good result unless you stop the car and get out.

NeGRit0

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 19, 2008
Las Vegas, Nv
Stop the car and get outside. Really. How long can that take.