Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mac.FINN

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 16, 2006
Canada
Okay, so I'd consider myself a fairly competant amateur photographer and I recently got myself a Canon Rebel XT. I'm a graphic designer and I'm looking to update/improve my portfolio by photographing it.

My first question is this - should I spend the dough and rent a studio for a day, is it worth it?

And my second - Does anyone have any tips or tricks for product style shooting of 2D items (on possibly reflective paper) and booklets?

The one area where I'm seem to suffer most in staged photography is lighting. Every idea is welcome and appreciated. TNX

mac.FINN

mlrproducts

macrumors 6502
Apr 18, 2004
mac.FINN said:
Okay, so I'd consider myself a fairly competant amateur photographer and I recently got myself a Canon Rebel XT. I'm a graphic designer and I'm looking to update/improve my portfolio by photographing it.

My first question is this - should I spend the dough and rent a studio for a day, is it worth it?

And my second - Does anyone have any tips or tricks for product style shooting of 2D items (on possibly reflective paper) and booklets?

The one area where I'm seem to suffer most in staged photography is lighting. Every idea is welcome and appreciated. TNX

mac.FINN

Lighting? Amazon.com => "Light - Science and Magic" 2nd ed by Hunter. Should really help with those product shots. I know it is expensive for photog books. I've bought many, many photog books, that was the most expensive, but tied with another for the best.

Edit:
Also, I bought a light box for father in law for eBay photos. I played around with it - amazing! Several sizes available from Amnova on eBay.

mac.FINN

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 16, 2006
Canada

I built a light tent out of PVC piping... you're right great results! Still need a little work on the lighting, to the bookstore I go.

Thanks again!