Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ayx.sh

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 19, 2023
I am seriously considering buying the new Mac Mini (2023) with the standard M2 chipset. However, as a student (using the discount), I can not afford to upgrade all the way. I am capable of affording only one upgrade which I would very much like. The following are the options:
  • I can upgrade the unified memory from 8GB to 16GB for £180.
or,
  • I can upgrade the storage capacity from 256GB to 512GB for £200.
I am a Computer Engineering student whose primary use case would be fairly intensive programming (OOP), gaming (eg: euro truck), and working on artificial intelligence/machine learning projects. Based on some research I performed, I learned that just like the MBPs, the 256GB version comes with 1 NAND storage unit as opposed to the 512GB version which comes with 2, making the latter more efficient. But I do want to be future-proof by having more RAM on hand with the 16GB unified memory version, and I do work on some intensive projects now and then. I think it is important to mention that I do have access to a 500GB spare SSD that I can plug in.

So all of this makes me a bit conflicted which is why I would appreciate some opinions/advice on this topic.

Cheers!

Last edited:

AutomaticHaze

macrumors regular
Aug 4, 2008
Texas
I just made this exact purchase today and I went with the RAM. You can always solve for additional storage externally. Upgrading from an i5 Mac Mini so I am beyond pumped. 😆

Best of luck with your decision!

ayx.sh

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 19, 2023
I just made this exact purchase today and I went with the RAM. You can always solve for additional storage externally. Upgrading from an i5 Mac Mini so I am beyond pumped. 😆

Best of luck with your decision!
Thanks for your reply, I’ll keep this in mind!

anshuvorty

macrumors 68040
Sep 1, 2010
California, USA