Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RobbieS

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 28, 2008
Last Sunday, I purchased a nikon d40 with a 18-55 vr and 55-200 vr, and I am very happy with it. But I now see that the d60 is out, and selling in stores. I have a 7 day return (which is still applicable) and a 30 day refund. For the 200 dollars, should I return the camera for the d60? I dont mind spending the 200 if the camera is worth it. KenRockwell says it isnt, but other sites say it is. I am a novice, but i still want to have a good product.
any help would be appreciated.

miloblithe

macrumors 68020
Nov 14, 2003
Washington, DC
Last Sunday, I purchased a nikon d40 with a 18-55 vr and 55-200 vr, and I am very happy with it. But I now see that the d60 is out, and selling in stores. I have a 7 day return (which is still applicable) and a 30 day refund. For the 200 dollars, should I return the camera for the d60? I dont mind spending the 200 if the camera is worth it. KenRockwell says it isnt, but other sites say it is. I am a novice, but i still want to have a good product.

I'd use that money for something else, like a flash. The main advantage, as I see it, is that it has anti-dust sensor shaking.

the Helix

macrumors regular
Sep 16, 2003
keep the D40...

Keep the D40 and buy a Nikon 50mm f1.8 lens. Sure it's manually focused for the D40, but the creative use that you can get out of it is just phenomenal.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA

If you took the same shot with both cameras and the same lenses and compared them, you wouldn't be able to tell which one took which shot. Your $200 would go to an unproven sensor cleaning system (and let's face it, all the tests show that most of them don't work and can actually make things worse.)

Spend your $200 on a community college course and some printing or a flash and flash bracket.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006