Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cutsman

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 1, 2006
So I'm pretty new to photography, as some of you who have seen my recent posts may know. Now, in my limited experience shooting with my newly acquired D50 with 18-55mm kit lens, I've already noticed a number of occasions where my kit lens simply did not offer the range i need to get the shots i want... (ie. closeup of birds/insects, etc.).

Having read a fair bit on this forum and dpreview... some people seem to be of the opinion that new photographers should stick with the kit lens for a while until they're more acquainted with photography and what they really need from a new lens.

My question is whether I should wait a while or if I should go ahead and get the 55-200mm vr? My problem with this is that I have already missed opportunities for shots due to the lack of a longer zoom. The longer i go without one, the more shot opportunities are going to be missed. Am i likely to discover something down the road that would make me think that my purchase of the 55-200 vr would be a mistake (eventhough it is only CAD$300)?

Thanks guys

miloblithe

macrumors 68020
Nov 14, 2003
Washington, DC
Sounds like a great inexpensive lens. I kind of wish the Canon camp had something like this.

If, down the road, you find that you really need a telephoto zoom that's got a wider aperture or longer range or is simply more durable, you can always sell this lens. Lenses tend to have good resale value if they are in good shape.

Kamera RAWr

macrumors 65816
May 15, 2007
Sitting on a rig somewhere