Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nnavas13

macrumors member
Original poster
May 25, 2020
Spain
I am an engineering student and I need a new MacBook Pro.

If I buy the M1 Pro now, it will arrive by the first week of august (I live in Spain and there is no stock anywhere because of the supply chain crisis), just in time for the next academic year. (MBP 14", 8 14 16, 16GB, 1 TB)

If Apple announces the M2 Pro MBP, lets say in mid October maybe, it may arrive by the end of the year.

I don't think the wait is worth it because there is not much to upgrade besides de processor, and from what I've been reading the improvement over the M1 Pro shouldn't be that big either. We should also take into account that the crisis situation could worsen, that the m2 pro could have even more delay, and that apple could also raise prices more as it has done with the new MBA.

What are your thoughts on this?

izzy0242mr

macrumors 6502a
Jul 24, 2009
A) M2 Pro likely won't happen until sometime in the first half of 2023. They will not be shipping it in October; that's too close to the base M2 and will take away the spotlight from it if they do that.

B) I just ordered a used 14" MBP on Swappa.com and should be getting it next week. Unless you're buying new specifically to get the extended AppleCare+ warranty, you can avoid all the supply chain issues by buying a gently used 14MBP and save a little money. And many of them come with an extended warranty, too.

You should go for the M1 Pro.

nnavas13

macrumors member
Original poster
May 25, 2020
Spain
A) M2 Pro likely won't happen until sometime in the first half of 2023. They will not be shipping it in October; that's too close to the base M2 and will take away the spotlight from it if they do that.