Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bobdard

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 10, 2008
Hi everyone,

I went to an auto show yesterday and took about 1000 pictures on RAW format. I'm an amateur enthusiast photography, and it was my first event experimenting with RAW and full M mode. So I dumped all my pictures into Aperture 3, deleted many and kept around 250 of them. I'm going to edit some of these, but I'd like to only keep the RAW files of around 100. The rest I'd like to just keep the JPEG. I've taken them all with RAW + JPEG.

Is there a way for Aperture to automatically get rid of the RAW file within each picture and keep the JPEG? Or any workflows one would recommend for doing this? Or do I need to export the RAW as full quality JPEG, then delete them and reimport the JPEG?

Thanks!

Rondue

macrumors regular
Jul 30, 2008
PA
You can probably just right click and do "Show File" and in that folder you can just cmd click the ones you want and delete. But personally I just invest in massive hard drive storage with backup and just keep all the shots that aren't completely jacked.

pdxflint

macrumors 68020
Aug 25, 2006
Oregon coast
Why can't you just multi-select/flag/mark (whatever it's called) all the RAW images you want to toss from within Aperture, and do a "save as" and pick the .jpg quality. I don't think you'd have to import them back. Then select the same images, delete, then empty your trash? Would that not work? I don't use Aperture, but it seems like a fairly generic type of process.

bobdard

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 10, 2008
Thank you both for replying.

You can probably just right click and do "Show File" and in that folder you can just cmd click the ones you want and delete. But personally I just invest in massive hard drive storage with backup and just keep all the shots that aren't completely jacked.

Just tried that; didn't work.