Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Does this seem more hardware or software related?

• Hardware

Votes: 4 80.0%
  • Software

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other...

Votes: 1 20.0%

• Total voters

rahhb.riley

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 5, 2009
a State
Needing help with a peculiar Siri issue; I'm usually able to diagnose or fix about anything myself and this is stumping me.

iPhone se, current iOS, macOS, and iTunes. All backed up, etc.

Month ago, screen breaks in my pocket. I was in a warehouse moving 20lb items around, crawling on the ground, up on ladder, etc. My point is that I'm not sure how I did it exactly, but it's plenty reasonable it broke. First time screen shatter for me by the way, and I've owned an iPhone since 08, kinda proud?!

I've been fixing my friends' and family's iPhones since the 3GS, I'm no pro, but I very much know what I'm doing replace basic iPhone hardware components. I ordered a display assembly from Amazon. Ordered with front camera/earpiece/mic/sensor preinstalled to save time, it was Thanksgiving.

Get the part in, did the repair, switched out my home button with my Touch ID sensor, put it together and all seems to work fine.

Until later in the day I realize Siri could barely hear me. I know Siri, FaceTime and front video recording use the microphone next to the earpiece speaker. If I shout it can hear me. Did all of the typical phone resets, toggle Siri, and resetup Hey Siri, no change.

I speculate that the microphone is bunk or there is a rubber protector/gasket thing left on the mic, maybe they forgot to remove when initially assembled? Later checked and found nothing obstructing the mic.

By the time I think to try to put my original camera/mic/sensor assembly on the new display, I'm headed home from my TG trip and the host has taken their trash to the curb.