Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

irishgrizzly

macrumors 65816
Original poster
May 15, 2006
I'm very new to photography – only used point and shoot with little room for adjustments. I bought a Canon G9 and would like to get the most out of these shooting modes – full program mode, aperture/shutter priority and full manual. Can anyone recommend a site that will explain why to get the best out of these settings? I will of course be playing about with them myself and reading through the manual, but I'd like so read something that could explain simply these settings with practical examples.

Suspended
Dec 29, 2007
There are a number of levels to photography you need to learn

1. Composition and subject -- what to shoot, how to think about what is in your viewfinder, etc.
2. How to photograph -- the basics on exposure, aperture, lighting, etc.
3. How to use a digital camera to take those photographs
4. How to post-process those photos for best effect (using Aperture, Photoshop, other tools).

There are tons of resources on line for #s 3 and 4. Here's one that addresses #3 http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials.htm. But without #s 1 and 2, you'll get well produced but perhaps poorly shot or boring pictures.

I'm not at my Mac, so I don't have my bookmarked links handy, but I know there are some really good sites for #2 and possibly #1. Here's a web page I just googled on composition: http://www.picturecorrect.com/photographytips/composition.htm

A good site for talking to other G9 users is http://photography-on-the.net/forum/index.php, though it's currently down for maintenance until 1700 GMT.