Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

farmerku

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 10, 2008
I have a Sony Cybershot 6.2 mp. I am needing to take some nice pictures as I am a Kitchen and Bath designer and want to take nice quality photos of the jobs that we do. The pictures I take with my Sony barely look any better than a scanned photo and I need some better performance. Does anyone have any recommendations for things I can do to enhance our photographs or what type of camera I should look into buying. My price range is about $400.

Thanks in advance for your advice!

jaseone

macrumors 65816
Nov 7, 2004
Houston, USA
I was about to recommend the Canon G10:

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-Powershot-G10-Digital-Stabilized/dp/B001G5ZTPY

That is in our price range BUT I am thinking a lot of the photos you are taking are going to require a wide angle (zoomed all the way out), would that be a correct assumption? If so then the G10 may not work for you as the widest angle is 28mm.

For a wider angle you could go with the D40 kit (you lose out on the zoom though but for your needs I don't think that would matter as much):

http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-Digital...=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=photo&qid=1234235920&sr=1-1

There would also be a similar Canon Digital SLR available as well but the Canon naming scheme confuses me so I can't find the relevant model, can any Canon folks chime in please?

The D40 does have a few disadvantages as there are some restrictions on what lenses it can use to utilize auto focus and the kit lens does not have Vibration Reduction so if the comparable Canon kit includes a lens with Image Stabilization I would say go with that choice.

LittleCanonKid

macrumors 6502
Oct 22, 2008
The comparable Canon model would probably be the Rebel XS, which does come with an image-stabilized kit lens. You will be able to use both EF and EF-S lenses without any autofocus restrictions.