Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

seenew

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Dec 1, 2005
Brooklyn
I've heard a lot of good things about Gary Fong's diffusers, but I want to make sure I get a nice one that I can use for a variety of different shots. I'm completely new to using an external flash, so if anyone could guide me in the right direction, I'd be grateful.

(PS: I'm shooting a friend's wedding in November, so keep that in mind, but like I said, I want something I can use in other situations, too)

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
Everyone will have an answer so I'll go with mine. Gary Fong's Lightsphere. Check it out.

Westside guy

macrumors 603
Oct 15, 2003
The soggy side of the Pacific NW
You might want to talk to the bride and find out if they want you using a flash at all. A lot of times people want the ceremony shot using only existing light because a flash is a big distraction - and a diffuser won't really change that.

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
Lard
I like my Gary Fong Lightsphere as well. Cloud colour for smaller areas and clear for bigger areas.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
I've heard a lot of good things about Gary Fong's diffusers, but I want to make sure I get a nice one that I can use for a variety of different shots. I'm completely new to using an external flash, so if anyone could guide me in the right direction, I'd be grateful.

(PS: I'm shooting a friend's wedding in November, so keep that in mind, but like I said, I want something I can use in other situations, too)