Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Cronos

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 10, 2014
Something is eating my bandwidth.

I have a mobile network and a mobile router that tracks my usage.
The router tells me I´m using about 0.5MB/s. That is, half a megabyte per second. Or 10 megabytes in 20 seconds....

I cannot for the life of me understand what is eating my bandwidth.
The sad thing about this is that I have only 3 GB monthly limit. At this rate, I am done at midnight.

While writing this post I´ve used about 50MB...

What is eating my bandwidth?!
Help!

I have a 12" Macbook, and I am very new to the Mac world. (Former PC user).

deeddawg

macrumors G5
Jun 14, 2010
US
Just to be sure, you're not mixing up MBps and Mbps are you? Factor of eight difference.

Activity Monitor will tell you which processes have been sending/receiving data, look there to start with.

Last edited:

duervo

macrumors 68020
Feb 5, 2011
If you have your photos imported from your phone and elsewhere, and you have iCloud Photo Library turned on (System Preferences -> iCloud -> 'Options' for Photos), then it's probably uploading all your photos to Apple's iCloud, and it could also be downloading them to the rMB too if you have an iOS device that you use to take pictures and videos.

Note: It's on by default. I had to turn it off on all my apple devices because my iCloud storage was filled up as a result of it, and Apple wanted to sell me a higher tier of storage.

Last edited:

Cronos

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 10, 2014
1. I don´t know what Time Machine is. I don´t have en external backup drive. And don´t do any backup actively to my knowledge.

2. It´s MBs and not mbps for sure. I know the difference. Thanks anyway.

3. I have turned off iCloud photo sync (It had a ´minus´sign, and not the regular ´check´mark. Anyways, I´ve switched it off).