Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

peskaa

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Mar 13, 2008
London, UK
Well, I thought the fount of all knowledge that is MacRumors' Photography Forum might be able to help here. First up, some background.

I work in a hospital as a clinical photographer, and am currently in the process of starting a research project into the deployment of dvSLRs (digital video SLRs if you didn't work it out) into the clinical environment. We have the stills side of things down pat, but this is new territory.

One of the biggest issues I have come across is that of stabilisation. Working in A&E (or the ER to the Americans) as well as various clinics and so forth means that tripods are not always the best solution, nor fast to set up. Monopods are an option, and will be trialled, but having been to several trade shows recently I'm interested in the handheld solutions that have hit the market recently.

Of course, being an idiot, I didn't look at them in detail at the trade shows, or take any notes. I have no resources on what to look for, so, do you people have any recommendations? The breakdown would be as follows:

- Suitable for EOS 5D Mark II/EOS 7D/D300s/D3s bodies
- Lenses ranging from 16mm to 105mm
- Portable
- Good stability and lack of vibrations
- Microphone mounting solutions or use hotshoe
- Cleanable, which is pretty damn important in a hospital environment
- Not ridiculously priced (I'm talking £1000 ridiculous)

So, experience with anything? Seen anything good?

Camerent.

macrumors newbie
Jan 20, 2010
5D and 7D stabilisation

Hi Peskaa

Video tripods and stabilisers are something I am very familiar with, whilst the new range of DSLR cameras offering video mean many of the traditional video type of stabilisers including stedicams glidecams and the like have switched to offer smaller units designed for the camera market.