Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

coastertux

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 17, 2006
I am a college student so I don't have much money, but what would be a good starter DSLR for a hobby photographer?

D34th

macrumors regular
Apr 14, 2006
Connecticut
I am a college student so I don't have much money, but what would be a good starter DSLR for a hobby photographer?

There are plently of posts about this. I am also a college student and I chose the Nikon D40. Basically the Canon 350/400D or Nikon D40/D50 will be good and they are "cheap". They will be a great way to get started into the DSLR world...

rickvanr

macrumors 68040
Apr 10, 2002
Brockville
I love my Nikon D80, but it's a bit on the pricey side.

I say take a look at the D40. Pick a camera that feels good in your hands, goto a store, pick a bunch up, play with them. Basically, just find one that feels good, and is in your price range.

NickD

macrumors 6502a
Mar 25, 2007
Colorado
Sorry to hijack a thread, but I saw another mention of the Pentax K100/K110D camera, and was wondering if this camera line is compatible with Canon/Nikon lenses?

cube

Suspended
May 10, 2004
No. SLR manufacturers only make bodies compatible with their own lens systems.
There are third-party lens manufacturers who make versions of their lenses for the different systems.

For example, Sigma makes lenses for many systems, but their cameras only accept Sigma mount lenses (in this particular case, nobody else makes Sigma system lenses).

gkarris

macrumors G3
Dec 31, 2004
"No escape from Reality...”
Sorry to hijack a thread, but I saw another mention of the Pentax K100/K110D camera, and was wondering if this camera line is compatible with Canon/Nikon lenses?

no, Pentax K-Mount....

Manufacturers try to maintain compatibility with their older lenses. Sony bought Minolta's camera division so those are the Minolta mount...

TheBonk

macrumors 6502