Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

abeck510

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 20, 2008
Hi all. I recently bought an MBP in addition to my previous iMac. Having both is great, but it has been quite tricky to manage my files between the two computers. Of interest, I have not found a good way to manage my photos.

Previous (when I was only using iMac), I used Photos to store and manage photos. I found it easy to organize into albums and to select albums to import to my iPad and iPhone. I uploaded and organize photos from my digital camera and iPhone. I am not a professional photographer - Photos allows me to do very basic photos and I am not looking for any more intensive editing capabilities.

I have two questions -

1) Is it possible to share and manage (add/organize) photos from both my MBP and iMac using Photos app? i.e. share one Photos library (read & write privileges) between the two computers? I was able to do this with my documents folder (https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204445), couldn't figure it out with Photos.

2) Is there a better photos managing program I should consider? Again, I am looking for simplicity and affordability. I would prefer to not pay for a cloud-based system.

Any input helps. Thanks!

Easttime

macrumors 6502a
Jun 17, 2015
Sorry, I missed that you prefer not to use the cloud. So ignore my post below.

(I simply set up photos on my desktop Mac and MacBook so that the app on both devices downloads high res versions from iCloud Photo Library to the photo library on both devices. So I see the same photo library on both Mac OS devices. And the Macs make separate backups of my photo library using my various backup systems, so I have lots of additional redundancy for safe-keeping. My iOS devices have less on-device storage memory, so I configure them to optimize photos instead.)

robgendreau

macrumors 68040
Jul 13, 2008