Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

quixotic

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 4, 2003
San Francisco, CA
While I would love to be able to drop a $500 on a macro lens, is there something else I can get for my Canon that's much cheaper?

I am not a pro photographer, I just want to be able to take some good close ups of very tiny objects. Thanks!

Lovesong

macrumors 65816
For a true macro lens, the best you can do is about $350, getting the Tamron 90mm (here), with this rebate.

You can go for a 50mm short macro, which is not a"true" macro, as it only goes down to 1:2 (or x0.5 mag), but it can be had for about $240 (here).

If you're looking to go dirt cheap, look into extension tubes, or lens reversal (but make sure you have the lenses that will support this).

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
While I would love to be able to drop a $500 on a macro lens, is there something else I can get for my Canon that's much cheaper?

I am not a pro photographer, I just want to be able to take some good close ups of very tiny objects. Thanks!

Diopter lenses are cheap, extension tubes are relatively cheap, reversing rings are dirt cheap. There are trade-offs in terms of quality and ease of use.

nutmac

macrumors 603
Mar 30, 2004
Do you also need a portrait lens? Many macro lenses double as an excellent portrait lens. Perhaps you can use that to justify spending more than $150. Some of the great macro/portrait lenses include Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 USM macro ($350) and EF 100mm f/2.8 USM macro ($450).

While there are sub-$150 3rd party lenses with "macro" designation, none are true macro (1:1 magnification, close minimum focus range, and nice-to-have macro features such as inner focus and USM). For instance, Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG macro ($130) has 1:2 magnification, over 3 feet closest focus range, not-so-great max aperture, and IMO, so so image quality.

ChrisA