Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Crawn2003

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 8, 2005
Santa Rosa, California
Does anyone have a suggestion for a decent point and shoot digital camera?

When it comes to DSLR's I know what the heck I'm looking for but I'm looking for a P&S to take around with me where my professional DSLR's won't go, i.e. an amusement park, to the bar with friends, etc.

I'm looking for something 8MP and above and isn't "handicapped", meaning not so easy to use that it's made for my parents that still use an old Polaroid camera. I want something that still has great features but in a P&S format. LOL, kind of like my Fuji S5 Pro or D300 in a P&S format.

Thanks for any help and suggestions!

~Crawn

juanster

macrumors 68020
Mar 2, 2007
toronto
i know you said over 8mp, and by no means i am not a pro- photographer, I have a Canon SD 1000 and i have a couple of friend that are pros and they have been pretty impressed by many shots i have taken with it...hope it helps, if not...i tried...

Doylem

macrumors 68040
Dec 30, 2006
Wherever I hang my hat...
When I'm out taking landscape pix (camera bag, big fancy camera, tripod = guy who knows what he's doing ;)), I'm often asked to shoot pix of people I meet with their own p & s cameras. And it's embarrassing to admit that I really haven't a clue how to use them. I hate the idea of holding a camera at arm's length, instead of up against my eye.

Some day soon, when I've got some spare cash, I'll be looking for a decent small camera too... but one that will deliver really good pictures (I can't see the point in compromising on that, just for 'pocketability').

Have I any suggestions for you? Erm, no. But I'll be interested to see what other folk suggest. :)

Lorem Ipsum

macrumors newbie
Jan 13, 2008