Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jace127

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2016
Hi guys, i am currently waiting for my custom built iMac 5k 27" with the following specs

Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0 GHz
AMD Radeon R9 M390 - 2048 MB, Core: 958 MHz, Memory: 1365 MHz, GDDR5 VGA
8192 MB Ram
Apple Fusion Drive 1TB (24 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD), 1024 GB

I mostly will be doing Photoshop editing, After effects, Illustrator and some gaming mostly World of Warcraft and maybe try the latest games, Is it worth it? i'm new to Mac just need a change and hopefully this will be a good one! Thanks.

NewtonPippin

macrumors regular
Jan 18, 2015
You should cancel your order and upgrade to at least a 2GB fusion so you get 128GB of SSD. Also i'd upgrade to the high end graphics card, and then buy 32 or 64GB of ram from Crucial. If you wanted to future proof it further, the 1TB SSD would be ideal!

Reactions: thasan

Algus

macrumors 6502
Jun 8, 2014
Arizona
You've got yourself a good system there. The RAM is easily upgraded down the road. The 2 TB fusion drive is a better deal than the 1 TB drive. It contains a much larger SSD which will help with load times on your frequently used apps.

My dual-core i5 an HD 4000 has no issue with WoW on my Mac mini so that quad-core CPU and Radeon GPU will eat WoW for breakfast.

jace127

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2016
You've got yourself a good system there. The RAM is easily upgraded down the road. The 2 TB fusion drive is a better deal than the 1 TB drive. It contains a much larger SSD which will help with load times on your frequently used apps.

My dual-core i5 an HD 4000 has no issue with WoW on my Mac mini so that quad-core CPU and Radeon GPU will eat WoW for breakfast.