Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KiD.DeeN

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 19, 2009
I'm looking at one of these two lenses for mainly high-school basketball.
I know the nikon 24-70 is a marvel, but as a high-school student, I just can't pay that much. So, I've found these two lenses, both of which will autofocus on my D40.

Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD $399
or
Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 IF EX DG HSM $899

For those who have tried both, is the sigma that much better than the tamron?

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
KiD.DeeN actually do you know how to read an MTF chart? If not that is ok because I'm going to tell you some things I know about the Sigma 24-70 versus the Nikon 24-70.

MTF chart wise there is not a $1000 difference between the two. There has to be some fairly signifcant diferences between two lenses in my book to justify a $1000 increase. To the extent I am a pro doing this day in and day out I can justify spending $1000 more on a lens. However, the Sigma has been seen to perform nearly as well as the Nikon and better in some cases. In some cases the Sigma (must be the HSM version) has more sharpness at it's widest end. I would say you detect faint (and I mean faint) evidence of light falloff on the Sigma but overall not enough to matter to me and probably not enough to matter to you.

I would choose the Sigma 24-70 HSM over the Nikon 24-70 any day of the week up until it was no longer a matter of money. If I were shooting enough and could recover the cost of the Nikon in just a couple of weeks I would certainly go for the Nikon as the build quality may be slightly better, but only slightly. Another issue I take up where there is not $1000 difference in the Nikon's favor.