Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MattSepeta

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jul 9, 2009
375th St. Y
Got my tax returns finally!!! Yay, I have my money back, interest free :rolleyes:

So I have a 430EXII. I want to have a 2 flash off camera system. I almost got a two strobe alien bees system, but decided to wait and think it over.

I am now ready to order the following today, pending you guys wise insight/approval :)

-a 580EXII to use as my main light, to be used in conjunction with the 430 as fill/background/hair/whatever. Any disadvantages to using this? I am very familiar with this flash already.

For control, I am torn between radio poppers and cyber syncs.

For a beginner in off-camera lighting looking to keep his future doors open, what would be the best bang-for-the-buck?
-RadioPopper JrX Transmitter for $80
VS
-Cyber Sync CST for $60

I am new to this, and fail to understand the differences between the two.

For the CyberSync I would need two receivers at $90 a pop.
For the Poppers I would get the two basic receivers at $80 a pop.

Will both of these be able to work with both of my off camera flashes ETTL?

As far as stands go, does anyone see any disadvantages to using this kit from amazon?

http://www.amazon.com/CowboyStudio-...ie=UTF8&s=miscellaneous&qid=1268331916&sr=8-3

It covers two stands, mounting feet, and umbrella sets for pretty cheap.

Reflector: http://www.amazon.com/Westcott-Photo-Basics-304-Reflector/dp/B000N4AYHC

Urgent feedback is appreciated! I want to start strobing!!!! AHHHH finally!!!
Thanks all :D